Tatts a Wrap: Update

I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to try out the dishwasher safe Mod Podge on a non-glass piece. So I did just that!  I also wanted to try out a tutorial I had seen online for using tissue paper with the Mod Podge to update a plain coffee cup.  I had a very plain white coffee mug that could really use a bit o’ somethin’ somethin’ to make it more interesting.  Poor thing never got used.

Here are the materials I used:

Tatts a wrap update 1

And a paintbrush, which I forgot to put in the photo!

As you can see, I used three coordinating tissue papers that I just bought at a bookstore/newsagents. The mug is this plain one from Maxwell Williams:

Maxwell Williams Basics range mug

Maxwell Williams Basics range mug

I just pasted on the Mod Podge, put on squares of tissue paper and then pasted on more Mod Podge.  Then I got the gold tattoo and tried my best to put it around the angled coffee mug straight.  I kinda failed at that.  Oops.  I would recommend if you ever want to put a temporary tattoo line onto a mug, then use a straight sided mug! Although I am not sure how often anyone will do this. If ever.

I also Mod Podged over the tattoo. The Mod Podge is supposed to cure for 28 days.  A long time!  So I haven’t been able to use the cup yet.  I totally staged the following pics, I freely admit.  I also made the mistake of doing this with the boys around and they were all over me wanting the cookies.  (I recently cut back on sugar in their diets so they don’t get cookies every day like they used to!) They also love having their picture taken, but are appalling at sitting still to have it done.  But the following shots give you an idea of how the mug looks. The Mod Podge definitely looks better on white ceramic than it did on the glass.  The filmy look isn’t there.  I will let you know if it actually does survive the dishwasher!! (And yes, the cookie monsters did get to eat the props later.)

One side of the mug

One side of the mug

The other side of the mug

The other side of the mug

 

And the cookie monsters!

And the cookie monsters!

UPDATE: After two coats of Mod Podge and over a month of curing the cup, I put it through the dishwasher.  Sad days 😦  Nearly ALL the colours came off except for the brown. Pretty darn disappointed in this product!  It didn’t come anywhere close to achieving dishwasher-proofness as the label claims.  If it sounds too good to be true it usually is.

6 thoughts on “Tatts a Wrap: Update

  1. Wow the cups look lovely. So too do the two little boys. You can do my cups. I have a cupboard full of plain white M and W cups. Xx

I love getting comments, questions or even new ideas so please feel free to comment!

