Mirror, Mirror on the wall

If you’ve taken a look at my “About” page on this blog, you will know that one of the things I love is a sunburst mirror.  I think they are gorgeous and also work well in a number of different room styles – from elegant, to modern, ethnic, traditional – they all work with a sunburst mirror!  You will also notice that I have a gold one above the bed in our master bedroom.  It took me a while to find it though and before I did, I brought a little bit of sunburst into my life through a clock that I found on super sale. (Super sale being the technical term for an item not just on sale but at a REALLY super good price. The kind of price where they are practically PAYING YOU to buy the thing.)  I think it cost me $25.  If you’ve seen how much a decent sunburst mirror costs, then you will know that this was a dirt cheap way to get the look.  So this was the clock:

Image

Sunburst Clock

Unfortunately, when we moved house almost a year ago, it got damaged and stopped working properly.  Obviously, I found the gold sunburst mirror to replace it but I didn’t want to just throw out this one as I loved the sunburst shape of it.  What to do??  I couldn’t fix the clock and I really couldn’t be bothered to buy a new clock mechanism.  I decided to try to upcycle it.  First I took a look at the back of the clock and saw this:

Image

Back of the sunburst clock

So I pulled the hands off the front of the clock and was able to unscrew and dismantle the clock mechanism.  Then I went to a craft store and paid a whole three smackaroos for two small mirrors.  I had hoped they’d be a bit bigger but this is what was available, so this is what I would use!  Then I had this:

Image

I took some superglue and stuck one of those mirrors on, right in the middle.  I just eye-balled it.  Then I took picture hanging wire and tied/wound it around those big screws on the back. And now I have this:

Image

The final product!

And here is the all important Before and After shot:

Image

Not a spectacular change by any means, but it’s sometimes very satisfying to take something beautiful but broken, and make it useful again. Especially when it only costs you $1.50 to do so! I am going to try to EBay it and see if it can find a new home since I already bought myself the other sunburst mirror.  Let’s see if I can get back the $30 odd dollars it has cost me in total 🙂

I love getting comments, questions or even new ideas so please feel free to comment!

